Even the Gods Must Die

Thinking of the Norse Gods while traveling in Norway it seemed to make perfect sense that the world must come to an end someday, even the gods themselves.  The further north one goes one sees the harshness that man must overcome to live there with a year sliced half in darkness and half in light. Maybe even the deities that guide such a world must succumb at some point.

Odin gave an eye for wisdom.  He had to sacrifice total sight.  His daughter, Brunnhilde, gave up her freedom for the compassion she felt.  She languished for centuries in a ring of fire.   Sacrifice was part of the story for every one, god , goddess or human.

We know the sun will not sustain us forever.  Or the land.  Or the hatreds we engender with each other to make battle.  We are flawed as these Norse gods were flawed.  Let us enjoy what we can, and leave the goodness here when we must leave.

Gotterdammerung.  Judgment Day.  Whatever you call it, it’s part of the story.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment