The Missing Airplane

Hollywood could not have thought up a more fascinating plot than one of any of the devised ones for the missing Malaysia airliner.
But who will actually write the ending? Sometimes even writers are
divided as to good finishes.

If it were a movie, perhaps we would find most of the passengers alive somewhere….beaten but unbowed. The music would soar…and you know the rest. Lives would have been impacted, but the world could then go on with a relatively happy ending.

We all fly nowdays. Some people climb into their seats terrified, some stoical, some without thought at all. But an airplane story
that is real, where no one falls from the sky, no one is hijacked,
and the plane just vanishes should be terrifying enough for any of us. Flying is done on trust that a big heavy metal object can hold us up over vast expanses of ocean and altitude. Flying is done on trust that those in charge know their jobs and are healthy
and wise as well.

I just got back from a long trip. It will be awhile until my next.
Meanwhile along with everyone else I hope for the improbably happy
ending, but what I expect are the theorists of pilot error,
conspirators or even extraterrestrials. Planes in the sky are
common now. Common as birds. I’ll take mine with trust attached.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment