Deep Freeze

My husband came in to tell me we have a mouse living in our car which is parked in our sub-zero garage.  I can’t fault the mouse for trying to find a way to a hot engine (no longer hot), but they stupidly eat their way through wires.  I need that car to function by the end of the week. Like the mouse I am not enamored of the cold that reduces us to zero in our body and soul.  It is a hard time when temperature drops .  I lived in London for three years in the 60s without anything resembling heat.  I understood why Dickens named a book BLEAK HOUSE,    Now that I am old and not in great shape I value the ability to have and to pay for heating oil and warm coats and the like.  People in London kept telling me we were being tested.  That their lives were valued by their ability to endure.  I don’t want to endure.  I want to excel and to excite and to be excited.  If there is a kindly God or Goddess, He/She will have warm breath, a warm heart, and a warmer hand to extend to us.

 

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

