Why do we love?

Is it a gene that makes us love? Animals sometimes do it so freely I think it must be programmed into us. Sometimes we love against all odds. We love parents who mistreat us, romantic partners who refuse to return kindness for kindness, people we have never met who inspire us, whole nations of others, whole species of others. Often we love against our better interests.
And what is this love? Can we really define what poets have struggled over for centuries. Whatever power it has over us is mighty. Many give their lives for it. Why can’t we bottle it?
why can’t we ration it? it is a mist we try to capture in our palms. We know for ourselves, each one, what it is and what it isn’t. But explanations elude us.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why do we love?

  1. Christine says:

    Love…
    There are many kinds…
    Life is not always allowing of “perfect situations” Life is messy…
    Love happens from commonality, passion, focus, and simply being present just because …
    Love can be deep or shallow and fleeting . Yet the old saying come in then “how do you keep your true love’s love forever? Let them go & if they come back….
    Still a very scary thing to believe in Love.

Leave a Reply

