The Pope – a question for non Catholics

The Pope is here and I am supposed to care deeply.
While I obviously admire many aspects of the man, he is not my leader. I long for the sake of my Catholic friends to say wonderful things about him.
Yes, there is much to admire. He actually seems to ask what Jesus would do. Still as a woman I have my concerns that he is not addressing…..can’t address as head of the Church he heads. I feel I should care more, cheer more, but I also feel so should he care more (for women and their plight). It is not enough to forgive. There must be understanding of why women can’t bear the children as well as the cross. I am glad he spoke out for much….but it is his silence I notice. Why can’t women have higher roles in the church? why can’t they give communion as well as receive it? and until then, I welcome him to our door, but I don’t feel ready to adore.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Pope – a question for non Catholics

  1. Christine says:

    Women have been able to give the host at communion for many years. My aunt is a nun. I grew up a roman Jew. However, women are still second rate because we hold “most of the sin” I guess because we can see…

Leave a Reply

