Cast as a Crone

I remember wondering what old age would be. Now I don’t have to wonder. It is
at best a dark comedy or at worst a deep tragedy. I just had a tooth removed and
replaced by a faux tooth that keeps me from feeling I need to look for two other witches to rehearse DOUBLE DOUBLE TOIL AND TROUBLE. The benefits of sagging,
pain, and derision by crueller elements of the world? A possibly more focused and
deeper view of life.
Tradeoffs are slim. I still feel robbed of those elements of myself I loved — the
ability to walk far, to bound up stairs, to be noticed in a crowd, to dream a long future. Better than the alternative? I’ll let you know after the alternative occurs….or come to think of it, I won’t.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

