Resisting Temptation

Social media makes us aware how alone and yet how not alone we are in the world with a constant rainstorm of ideas, news, attitudes, etc. I must bring myself to the computer each day to learn what
the world thinks I should think is important. I can resist much, but sometimes not enough. I am too old to care about how to wear a dress with my breasts half-exposed. I am too old to care about available single men looking for women who can be partners. I have had my partner for 40 years now….and he is perfectly suited to my joys and sorrows.
What did we do before each day brought new information to our door in such a rush? There used to be a piano in the parlor that someone played, a cake in the oven that someone baked, a garden someone planted….a life someone led without uninformed advice
on a screen.
There are still museums and national parks out there for visitation. There are still the unexpected meetings both good and bad with real people who can affect us. We have never lacked for temptations. We have never completely resisted them. But we also would like the temptations to be real, not ghost ideas that pass in the night.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

