The Mind of the Artist

When I look at the artwork of my husband I realize there is a part of him that I can only know through his art. It is his private space that creates this world where some have half an ear and others have three or four, where one eye is round while the other is square. And the colors!!! They move around the canvas in a way that does not approximate what most of us see.
Obviously he is not the first artist to re-arrange the rational world in his own mystical way. But I live with him!! I’ve done so now for almost forty years. We talk about life. We travel. We argue over books, and what to have for dinner. But I cannot argue with him about his art. That is his private space where I am only
invited in as a spectator to delight and ponder what moves him beyond those wheels I see turning.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment