The Importance of Breathing

I am not black or hispanic, but certainly do not wish to be lumped in the white disdain for others on this day after the Grand Jury delivered a verdict that baffled anyone with eyes and ears and sense. Let me first state: Everyone needs to breathe. Including
people suspected (not convicted!!!) of crimes. The tragedy of the death of one man is an indictment of us all. From Ebola or gunshots or lack of medical care or hunger. Any of it is not acceptable in a world where want should be banished by now and
compassion grown larger. We are all diminished by a death as John Donne pointed out many years ago….who will take our air away if we just stand by and shrug?

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

