George Mallory and that Big Hill

I just viewed a documentary about George Mallory who may or may not have stood on the top of the world long before Hillary and Tenzing. Some voyagers to the summits and depths and distances of our universe carry more attention than others. Mallory is certainly one of these.
Did he or didn’t he? Since he sacraficed so much to get there, I hope he saw the world from the peak of Everest. Certainly his children that were left fatherless at a young age and his wife who wanted him to grow old beside her were the less because of his love affair with a mountain. And if he had lived, would he have stopped? Adventure played on him like a drug.
I saw the Himalayas when I was in Nepal years ago. They were like no other mountains I have ever seen, bigger and bolder with a “Noli me tangere” sign
stuck on them , written out in whirlwinds of snow and clouds. I did not want to climb them. I knew I would be tempting fate. But I am glad I saw them and felt
something of their other-wordly atmosphere. Like that mysterious stranger that
one meets at a party I sensed deep danger and acknowledged my own timidity.
George Mallory lived before his time. Or maybe he would not want to know many think Everest is just too easy now with all the advancements of mountaineering.
What were his thoughts lying face down in the snows there with his life draining away? was it the ecstasy after the orgasm of achieving the heights? or was he thinking of home in England with his young wife and three children who had to live past this adventure without him?

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

