Writing and What is Written

It’s amazing how many people tell me they have a book in them. They probably do.
We all have stories to tell. I once bought my husband a card that pronounced “Our love story is the best.” Understood after that is “because it’s ours.” But actually it is a mundane story when told to others….to ourselves we can remember the anxiousness of the passion, the questions as to what this implied, and the
joinings that set off asteroids, meteors, and falling stars. To others it is simply two people who met in an Anthropology Class and decided to stay together.
What is written does not reveal the full emotion. It can’t. Emotions are such
tricky fellows. They aren’t simply contained in sentences but spill and seep.
When people tell me thay have a book in them, I say “Write it!” Mostly they don’t because they understand that writing is more than what is written. It hints, and
teases, and implies other truths. That is what defines a writer. Not the story, but the telling of it so that other people feel it is part of their story.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

