The Envelope Please….

The Oscars are over for the year. Now the Hollywood machines are gearing up for the next round in twelve months. I am just happy to make it through to the end. There was much I did not see this year. My love of film is greater than my hours watching it unroll.
I went to see AUGUST:OSAGE COUNTY because Dermot Mulroney did a reading of a play of mine this summer. He came to the evening full of enthusiasm (along with Chris Cooper) about the OSAGE experience. While I enjoyed the acting, I found problems with the script that did the usual mean-spirited unveiling of a coffin of family secrets done much better by the Greeks.
DALLAS BUYERS CLUB had also lovely performances. And a message that some young people had never heard about the stigma and toxic
environment of AIDS in the USA.
GRAVITY reminded me how earthbound we are, even when we venture into Space. And how mysterious that exoskeleton is to our earth.
Maybe I am more critical now. Or maybe the quality of film has lessened even while special effects and camera work has improved.
But I made it through the whole program. Years now I have turned it off when the songs were too mediocre or the wisecracks were meaner than the need for them.
It is a world of artificial construction where even old women must have young faces and bodies….where technicians take their moment in the sun to remind us they are more important than we find them in the viewing. And then they all go out to drink and we go to bed. Yet it is a ritual we await. And which awaits us. The mutuality of capture of attention pulls the net tight….and the envelope is torn open again and again.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

