The Writing Business

My novel, The Nun’s Dragon, is about a month away from publication.
I am an unwilling student of the “business” of writing at this point.
It is not enough to write the prose. One must then package it for a publisher to take interest (or have the funds to do the publication
one’s self) and sell it to a public swimming and sometimes even drowning in the written word.

Every time I turn on an interview on TV the person doing the interview and also the person being interviewed have “written a book.” There used to be the idea everyone had one good book in them. Maybe some of those books should stay there….and let us writers who have the addiction for putting down thoughts practice our art in a way that allows us to prosper financially.

How does one even find success? Is it like playing the slots where if you do it enough the right combination will appear? Or is it like falling in love where the romantic dance can end quickly when one steps on the wrong foot.

Maybe we should roll our books up into our drawers with the stockings for future generations to find and peddle them — Emily
Dickinson did very well with that strategy.

We need an audience to read our words or the book is always unfinished.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

