Julie Harris R.I.P

Ask some young theatre students today who Julie Harris was and they may look puzzled. Oh, maybe they remember something of her name.
But they cannot recall her wonder because they never saw it.

I am happy to say I did see it. It was the fuel that made me propel
myself to the moon the few times I was lucky enough to try the theatre . At fifteen people told me I was a young “Julie Harris.”
It was not true. She was unique….and anyone who tried to copy her would find out how truly unique the woman was. Her small stature and her big emotions were like watching a wrestling match between body and soul. She showed us how it was done by being one’s self, not a copy of someone else. She wore each part like a skin that could not be peeled away without her permission. I owe it to her that I understood some performances cannot be copied. One must start at the bottom and work up all on one’s own.

She was good in television and the movies, but it was on the stage she really shone. There her power danced around the theatre like
electricity doing a wild escape. How she energized us, made us weep,
and then gathered up her gifts again for the next performance.

Thank you, Ms. Harris. A performance well done.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

