The Poor Are Always With Us

I am in the midst of reading a book about the historical Jesus called ZEALOT. As with any figure from a revered past it is hard to sort out fact from myth. One certainly finds a background of revolutionary
surges that is missing from the four Gospels. It is true that there are shreds of history there, but this book is not written to convert,
just to enlighten.

The rather cynical comment, ever true, alas!, that the poor are always with us is one that echoes in my head every time I reach into my mailbox to extract the mail. Everyone needs me (or rather, my money) from abused animals to opera singers who want to make a demo.
I feel sometimes that I have a bit to spare. Certainly nothing like the amounts these organizations and individuals need. Is it my conscience I am soothing or their palms?

I feel better about listening to classical music now that I gave a bit to the local classical station. I feel happier about the world when I think an animal is fed or loved. I can’t raise a whole village but some times I can give enough for a flock of honeybees to help with village raising. And yet the poor are always with us. It disturbs me deeply that no pocket is deep enough or heart wide enough to make lie of that statement.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

