Turning 70

I never thought I would live this long…and as a famous sports figure said “If I had known..I would have taken better care of my health.” But here I am at another birthday with a zero on the end of it, and like all people who once thought an early death romantic I am begging for another ten years. At this point I am taking better care of my health. Somedays I am actually happy in my life…contentment with things that never contented me when young. A garden, a glass of wine, the friendly lines of poems I have read a hundred times.

My husband is five years younger and excited to reach his 65th birthday. We are in wonder at being together in old age, living Browning’s urging “Grow Old Along With Me, The Best is Yet to be…”
The best before the worst when our sun starts to set and we know there will be no next sunrise.

Meanwhile I live in the Technicolor of a life I never thought I would have. Creative, and loving.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

