What is Marriage?

Much has been made of the Supreme Court’s encounter with the concept of marriage. I studied anthropology in Highschool where marriage was an economic transaction….let not the marriage of true minds, etc. did not apply there. I myself am married. How does that differ from when my husband and myself were living together without the piece of paper? I would say it made life easier for those traditionalists who needed to address our commitment in some way.
My brother-in-law, for instance, kept introducing me as Richard’s
“fiancée” . At the time there were no marriage plans at all. I had extricated myself from a bad marriage two years earlier, and Richard was a hippie. We were simply following our hearts.
When we finally did get married all those who had been horrified we had not been previously stopped discussing it. The silence of consent?
There are tribes where men marry men, where women marry women, where people marry trees. Should the Supreme Court take these differences into account?
I do not think I will ever find another person so intune with my life as Richard. We seem to understand that we are on the same journey. Our son is content with us, but he says he will never get married.
I hope marriage will be deemed one more choice people can make. For us marriage only changed the way the world looked at us, not how we looked at each other. The Supremes must make their own judgments about the importance of the institution, but as long as it carries importance it should be available to all at their own
leisure.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

