Writing and the Weather

When I took a literature course years ago in college I used to look out the window of my Colorado cabin and think about the differences in snow. Yes, snow. Robert Frost and Emily Dickinson wrote very different poems in their snow-bound winters than I did
in my mountain cabin where the snow was an insistent visitor raging and banging around the windows and the door to get in to face me. Driving down to Denver every day was a challenge. The
snow often lost interest about half way down the mountain in its pursuit of me and puddled off by the creek as Denver rose inthe distance. And my poems reflected the rage of the season, not the
beauty of frilly lace or comfortable friend that moved the New England poets.
Now I live in Pennsylvania where snow is more threat than constant reality. It whispers and coos to us in the air. Finally when it drops, it makes definite covering over the land. And over my mood.
The Eskimos have so many words for snow. Their poetry is in the
amount and variety of ways of seeing snow. They almost describe it in the moods of a beloved. An angry or hurtful beloved, but something that is there and subject to amazing concentration.
I want to see all the moods of the world and its weather. I want to understand the way writing has evolved with the changing earth.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

