December 25th – an occasion to think about

I am not a religious person in any organized sense. I believe in the music of the spheres, but sometimes wonder if there is a conductor for this music or a composer. Still at Christmas I ponder the smaller question of our planet. A very small question indeed when
cosmic questions boom.
Legend has it that a poor couple, compelled by the government need to have a census, had to travel to a large city. The woman was about to give birth. They were made to sleep in the barn of an inn. Still the baby was a healthy one. Some curiousity developed about this child due to the coincidence of a star that seemed to hang over the barn at night. Perhaps not even a star but a full-blown comet. Like all young couples expecting to start out in a life together this couple felt blessed. Their son grew up to exhibit astonishing gifts and died early after political forces turned against him.
In this history there is plenty of things to think about. Being born with a silver spoon doesn’t make you important. Being born at all is a miracle. Being born healthy and wise is even better.
The smallest person can attract the world if they are blessed. And also blessing to others.
Mary and Joseph were brave parents (like all new loving parents) who did their best to protect their child.
And if the angels were out singing in the heavens, they had good lyrics for their song. I wish they came every December 25th ro remind us that Christmas is about more than possessions. Or food.
I lost two people I cared about this Christmas. Let me remember Christmas is about birth as well as death. The two ends of life are
markers, not definitions of the person.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

