September 11th – As the World Turns

We keep coming back to the date of September 11th just when I feel the year is settling into a satisfying path. And so it goes. We stare once more into the face of horror.
Having talked to many people who lived through World War II in countries where September 11th horror level repeated itself for
many months into years I see it is not a day unique for those who have seen hell on earth.
But for many of us this was that experience of
something we’ve been able to make no sense of and no hope from.
When we drive to NY I still look for the Twin Towers on the skyline. They shift there as reluctant ghosts in my thoughts. I don’t suppose anyone who saw them often will ever
look at that skyline again without drawing them in mentally.
I did not lose friends that day, but my son lost four people he knew. He went to their Memorial
Services and wanted to join the military in blind rage at the day, the attackers, and the angels who had not bothered to show up in the skies.
I cannot pass this time without mentioning my
deep well of grief which will be churning from
the hot grief of loss. Loss of what? Country?
Life? Joy? A time when trust was evident in our life?
I can’t imagine how the families feel. I can’t imagine how the men who planned the attack feel. I can’t imagine….such a day is beyond imagination, and yet here it is again.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

