VAMPIRES, WEREWOLVES,ZOMBIES

There is a rising fascination once more with the Undead that folklore has told us for years lies among us. I am reading “Death Has Come Up Into Our Windows” by Stant Litore which is part of his series, Zombie Bible. This is not a frivolous look at the limbo of life/death that sustained the Hammer Films , but rather a larger framing of a concept that has intrigued mankind for many centuries. Vampires give us the sexual element of the Undead, Werewolves
the freedom in that shadowy terrain, and Zombies provide the “noir” gaze to our technicolor version of what life offers beyond the grave.

I admire people who shift the image of how we see life (and beyond life). I find “romance” a rather syrupy term for what we find on the other side of the curtain and so object to much of the new vampire work. I want more than a bite of
undying love. I want the whole meal.

Do we really have another shadow apart from the one we throw on the wall? Is that shadow one of horror? of other?

Here we stand always ready to plant a foot in life and another foot in the state beyond which may not be death but something far more shifting. I don’t want to be a vampire, werewolf or zombie. Their paths don’t take me where I want to walk. But I acknowledge their fascination with us is built in to our own fascination with them. At the hour of midnight there is a communication with the parting darkness and the growing day.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

