Mayan Calendar

Under the silvery light of evening, filled with wine and good food, my friends, my husband and myself discussed the reality/fantasy people have of the world ending. Did the Mayans understand when they ended their calendar, we had people who took it as a truth that our cosmic life would fall apart?? And what could we do about it?

I say we could sit in the garden on a moon-pressed night and look up to starlight that comes down from a thousand stars that no longer even exist, but yet have ambience for
our dinner party. My dog was unbothered by the truths and half-truths of the evening. He was fed and loved and partially asleep. He will take what comes his way. He understands our lack of power which is only slightly less than his lack of power over events.

The Mayans left us with great temples and cities that rest in the green hand of jungles. We can see by implication how they tried to manipulate the universe. And how do we? By stocking water supplies and dried beans and hoping we don’t implode along with the planet? Give me my wine and good company and let the world go to hell. It will or it won’t despite
reckonings chiselled into stone.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

