Guns – Part of the American Dream?

I have never owned a gun.  I have always said that if it ever became necessary to own a gun, it was time to move.  Is there something deeply un-American in me?  I am told that even though many people went into a movie last Friday night in Aurora and few came out, we should forego any discussion on the nature of guns in our country.

A “well-regulated militia” is given as the purpose for the right to carry arms.  How many gun owners belong to such a group?  Sometimes our constitution is more obscure than straightforward, but it seems the second amendment is clear enough.  If we lack an army as a country (and we haven’t for many long years), a well-regulated militia is needed to maintain order.

I acknowledge hunters probably need guns.  I am not so sure they need assault rifles.  Here in Pennsylvania we are allowed to purchase a gun a month.  Does anyone really need twelve guns a year?  Even to hunt.

Many gun owners are also religious.  Is the mandate to bear arms something for which a loving God gives approval?

Yes, it’s time for a talk.  And when we do talk, please leave your guns at the door.

 

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

