MY FACE IS MY FORTUNE, SIR, she said

I received a call from the Democrats to remind me to bring a photo ID to the Primary tomorrow.  Fortunately I have such an item.  I wonder how many people who lack Driver Licenses or Passports find their lives curtailled because officially they have no face. While I dislike having my picture taken (more every year) I realize to the world I still have aface, even if it is not the one that some used to admire.

Looking at my dog and cat who never need to consider their countenances, I think them lucky.  We who look on them show them their appearance in our adoration of their existence.

In a society obsessed with looks and photos and all the rest, I hope one day other judgments will be made of us sooner rather than later. Instead of faces, maybe voices, or even actions which should speak louder than many things we present.  Until then I will gaze upon my dog and cat, admiring their lack of need for such beauty which gives them a beauty even deeper.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

