Many Universes – Personal and Cosmic

    I am reading A UNIVERSE FROM NOTHING by Lawrence M. Krauss which thrills me in the postulations and loses me in the mathematics.  It is hard to reach out from our very personal world into the vast canyons of space and time where bending and re-shaping go on in numbers too big to contemplate for long without reaching for the aspirin bottle.  In my writing I am trying to show how Myth helps explain this deviation from our normal lives as best we can describe any exploration we do beyond the mundane.  Right now I am busy working on a piece about a nun and a dragon taking place in the late 1300s in England where he propels her out of her cloistered world (cloistered on so many levels) onto a vaster backdrop where she must question what she is worshipping every day in the many hours of prayer and contemplation.

     The figure of LILITH (my story on Amazon Kindle now) is that of a female who survived the big bang of creation (“Let there be light”) to say NO to a Creator who wanted the creation set up a certain way with certain rules.  She became an outlaw.  Now that we are more sophisticated in our understanding of cosmic rules and deviations we label these outlaw factions as dark matter, dark energy, cosmic constants and other terms.  Terms for pressures on the expanding wider definition of Creation.  Pressures, not names.

    I will never see the folded strings of Time because my vision is, at best, three dimensional .  I can hear the music of the spheres under the quiet of the garden on a summer’s night where I sit, looking at the few histories of past cosmic events represented in the star light that slides down Time’s channels to me.  The star is already something else, somewhere else, or gone.

   It is much too large to contemplate except by inserting our own imperfect vision as a corrective measure against the chaos we see presented. 

 

  

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

