The Use of Myth in Writing(writing Lilith)

More and more my work is focused around mythology.  As I grow I see myth has a power that provides a webbing under the earth we used to feel was so solid.  It is a matter of choice which myths we follow as we walk our journey.

Writing LILITH was important to me.  She has so many faces for so many cultural groups I had to pull out the appearances that were important to my need of her.  I am fascinated that she was “the first wife.”  We women often talk of “the first husband” as the male we learned from (usually in the negative) so we became better women.  There is something to be said for one’s first big deep relationship being the one which startles us to waking.  By paring away all the stereotypes of what we want, we find the truth as naked and spare as a tree in the depths of winter.  For Adam Lilith proved that lesson of rejection. 

We fear primal urges in us and rebellion as it shakes the universe mightily no matter how insignificant we feel.  There is something to be felt in Lilith’s honesty in the very face of God.

I could not end the story for so long.  I actually put it aside and almost forgot it, until suddenly the ending came in a flash.  What would one do with a war between an archetype and a real woman?  Where could one see beauty in something that wishes to destroy what one loved?  How could anyone be threatened by a barn owl?  Does every mundane thing have another face behind it that hides under the guise of our day-to-day life?

 

 

 

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

