Ice Age Warning

How low does the temperature have to be before we literally freeze?
Can we survive winters that increasingly fell our bodies and even
our hearts with lower and lower temperatures? Will our glass be
neither half full or half empty, but a receptacle for ice cubes?

This winter is starting to make me ponder the limits of our adaptability….physical and mental. Looking out my window at the half-light of winter daytime I despair for the fluttering birds
in the garden and the deer that strive in the woods around my home. I despair for myself should the furnace give out, should
the food supply run down, or my optimism freeze over.

Ice Age warning is posted in my brain! I remember thinking years ago when I toured Auschwitz on a cold February day that the cold
and starvation would get me long before the gas chamber. For how many was this true then? We are masters of adaptability being able to manipulate the environment to our advantage. We are also fools if we think we can fight nature. We bend and stretch our
capabilities, but we are small fish in the frozen oceans of time.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

