Peter Pan’s Mother

There will be a reading of the play I took so long to write up at Cape Cod Repertory Company. Sometimes the value of a long life is made manifest when it takes many years for thought to come to fruition and then attach itself to words on a page and THEN to
production.
In a sense I have spent my whole life with Peter Pan. When I was a child I wanted to fly away to Neverland for adventure….and to rid myself of parents, neither of whom were especially kind to me. Then I became an actress and dreamed of playing Peter…and saying those amazingly revolutionary thoughts about childhood. Now I am an old lady with a son of my own who identified more with Captain Hook than Peter in his youth. He held another kind of rebellious spirit.
The play turned out differently than I imagined it over the years.
Sometimes actually writing something down tricks one into new attitudes. Nevertheless, I’m glad I wrote it.
James Barrie who first imagined Peter had reason to quarrel with the syrupy views of motherhood. His own mother loved but one of her children in a special way — when that boy died, she abandoned the others in her heart. He was his own lost boy.

About christineemmert

Words have been part of my life. First the spoken word in my time as an actress and increasingly the written word in my shift to writer. I write across the genres, but mostly as a playwright and poet. My interest as my life extends is in the realm of tethering myth to the mundane reality where I live. In this vein I have expanded into stories and novels. Presently I look at how myths taken from past cultures can affect us today. Hence my novella of Lilith which is out on Kindle . I live in the Eastern Woodlands where I try to incorporate nature into my many writing projects. We are so in danger of losing that link to our very planet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

